top of page


UCAN includes 28 faculty scholars from eight academic units. They conduct research in Africa; North, Central, and South America; China; Europe; the Near East; and Southeast Asia. They work on a wide variety of theoretical issues and on time periods ranging from prehistory to the present, and they teach an array of technical specialties, including GIS and spatial analysis, ceramic analysis, bioarchaeology, zooarchaeology, geophysical survey, archival methods, and ethnoarchaeology.

The main academic units concerned are: 

Anthropology, Art History, Classics, the Divinity School,  East Asian Languages and Civilizations, History, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, the Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures, and the Program in the Ancient Mediterranean World.

bottom of page